You Are Here: Home » News » Teachers Awarded For Their Outstanding Service

Teachers Awarded For Their Outstanding Service

[bitsontherun OhwRSbNS]

The National Teachers Awards ceremony held today at the National Cultural Centre saw 12 teachers from across the country being awarded for their outstanding and dedicated service to the teaching profession over the past year.

 The 12 teachers were drawn from regions 1-10 and were presented with plaques and certificates for their individual performance in the respective schools.

The national awards ceremony for teachers has always been a collaborative effort between the Ministry of Education, the Guyana Teachers Union and Laparkan Holdings since 2001.

Giving the feature address, Minister of Education Shaik Baksh said that the teaching profession should be seen as a noble one.

To this end he noted that his ministry has started new negotiations with the Teachers union to ensure that teachers in the country are properly compensated for their hard work.

And challenging the teachers to continue striving for excellence in molding the nation’s children was President of GTU Collin Bynoe.

The National Teachers Awards ceremony was first held in 2001 and has been the brainchild of Laparkan Holdings.

Teachers  were awarded in the area of punctuality, conduct and performance during the last school year.

Leave a Comment

© 2016 Capitol News Guyana

Scroll to top